New York Film Festival

The New York Film Festival (NYFF) is an annual film festival held every autumn in New York City, presented by the Film Society of Lincoln Center (FSLC). Founded in 1963 by Richard Roud and amos Vogel with the support of Lincoln Center president William Schuman, it is one of the longest-running and most prestigious film festivals in the United States. The non-competitive festival is centered around a “Main Slate” of typically 20-30 feature films, with sidebars for experimental cinema and retrospectives, and recently introduced documentary and trans-media sections. Programming is led by a rotating Selection Committee, chaired by the Director of the New York Film Festival, with many committee members remaining from year to year. Separate committees and individuals program the short film, experimental, and trans-media sections. Kent Jones has been the festival Director since 2013. As of 2016, the main Selection Committee included Jones (chair); Dennis Lim, FSLC Director of Programming; Florence Almozini, FSLC Associate Director of Programming; amy Taubin, Contributing Editor, Artforum and Film Comment; and Gavin Smith as a consultant. The 55th New York Film Festival took place between September 28 - October 15, 2017.

1 2 NYCGO 3 4

New York Lexikon